Project: "Fox-E-Lady" or "How to ruin a running Fox for no good reason"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Project: "Fox-E-Lady" or "How to ruin a running Fox for no good reason"

*EDIT* My lovely lady lumps likes "Fox-E-Lady" for the project. 'Cuz it's a Fox, and it's an "E"-lectric. Get it? Of course, other suggestions are welcome, but that's what I'm going with for now. *END EDIT*

OK, so here's the deall'yo:

I'm an electrical engineer at a small-time business in Jackson. We've done some electric car work before, but have never actually built one top to bottom. So, I decided that I wanted to do my own. I'm "competing" against my boss' old AMC AMX. Mine is a budget build. His is all-out spendalotofmoneybecauseIhaveitandthiswon'tbeeconom icalatallinfactthiswillbemoreexpensivethanusinggas oline.

I picked up a 30hp induction motor for $400 new over Christmas. It should put out as much or more peak power than the original engine, if I get enough batteries. I'm going to use lead-acid for the power source because they're cheap, but that's going to involve some reinforcement of the trunk and rear suspension. Not sure how I'm going to do it yet, but I have some thoughts. Batteries are prolly gonna be $1500 - $2000 for a set to get me from Lansing to Jackson. I'm going to lay out and build the electronics myself. Parts and assembly for three drives should set me back about $500, and I can program them at will, compared to $2500 for a single off-the-shelf drive.

Being a budget build, I had to land a cheap car that I didn't care about killing. My brother "wrecked" my dad's Fox about two years ago, but since the body and everything was sweet except the front end, I promised to take it off their hands for free, never to take up garage space again.